The purpose of classification system in the Library is to provide a basis for organizing books and materials so that they can be found quickly and easily by the library clientele.

Dewey decimal classification system (DDC)

The Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC) is a classification scheme which divides human knowledge into ten main classes with further decimal division using a notation of numbers.

  • 000-099 General Works
  • 100-199 Philosophy & Psychology
  • 200-299 Religion
  • 300-399 Social Sciences
  • 400-499 Language
  • 500-599 Pure Science
  • 600-699 Applied Science
  • 700-799 The Arts
  • 800-899 Literature
  • 900-999 History


The arrangement of books on the shelves follows the outline of the Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC).